Teaching My First Year

Tales of a 5th Grade Charter School Teacher

An introduction August 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — kathleengause @ 2:42 pm
Tags: ,

I graduated this past spring from Dixie State College in St. George, Utah with a Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education.  I accepted a job at Exclesior Academy in Erda, Utah, because I was impressed with the vision for the school.  I’ll be teaching 5th grade.

I’m excited and nervous and trying not to be overwhelmed.  I am confident in my abilities and my training, but I just don’t know exactly what to expect.  Fortunately, the fear of the unknown is keeping me humble and thus forcing me to think more about the upcoming year.

Excelsior Academy is a charter school and brand new this year.  As I type, construction continues on the building.  It is scheduled to be completed on August 14.  I’m hoping, praying, knocking on wood, all while crossing my fingers that it will be completed on time and that we will receive all our supplies in a timely fashion so that we can open as scheduled on August 24.

The facultly is from all over the United States representing such locations as Maine, New Hampshire, Georgia, Florida, Texas, Nebraska, Iowa, Michigan, Wyoming, and Washington with three colleagues recently teaching in a remote location of Northwest Alaska.  I’m excited for the diversity and hope that we all bring the best of our backgrounds and experiences to the table.  This diversity has the potential to create the best school around.

 

Leave a comment